Comprehensive Information on Bihar 2010 Assembly Election, Politicians and General Bihar Politics

Posts tagged ‘Bihar Assembly Election 2010. Bihar Election 2010.’

Congress at the crossroads, The party is yet to see that principled, not populist, politics wins trust and votes

The 83rd Congress plenary session was notable for what it left unsaid. Eleven states will decide the outcome of the next general election—Uttar Pradesh-80, Bihar-40, Tamil Nadu-39, Andhra Pradesh-42, West Bengal-42, Maharashtra -48, Gujrat-26, Karnatka-28, Madhya Pradesh-29, Rajasthan-25 and Orissa-21 Lok Sabha Seats. Together they account 420 MPs in the 545-seat Lok Sabha. About 70 % total Lok Sabha seats.

Whichever coalition—UPA or NDA –wins at least 210 parliamentary seats from these states will form the next Govt at Centre.

A careful state –wise calculation shows that, with Andhra in revolt, coalition fissures in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Maharastra, entrenched opposition Govt. In Gujrat, MP, Karnatka, UP and Bihar and anti-incumbency likely in Rajasthan, the Congress will struggle to get, on its own even 120 seats from the 11 large swing states.

Corruption and communalism are the pivots on which the next general election will turn. If the Congress continues to treat Muslims as votes banks rather than citizens to be lifted out poverty, it will lose—as it did in Bihar—its steadiest support base—Anti-RSS rhetoric does not impress Muslims any more. They understand the real threat—and epicenter—of terrorism lies in Rawalpindi, not Nagpur.

“Manmohan Singh has absolute accountability but not absolute power, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi has absolute power but not absolute accountability. This lies at the heart of India’s governance deft.”

Indian voters are increasingly shunning political parties which abuse public office. But the decline of the Congress has deeper roots. Why has its national vote share plunged into the 20 % range since the mid-1990s, restricting the party to around 200 Lok Sabha Seats or less in the 5 general elections of 1996[28.80 %] national vote share, 1998—25.82%, 1999—28.30%, 2004 –26.53% and 2009—28.55%?

The answer—While the critical 14 % Muslim vote –which hands the Congress over 1/3 of its Lok Sabha seats—has been steadfast, the emerging middle class, alienated by the odor of corruption and nepotism that surrounds the party, has gradually deserted it.

The Congress now commands only 1/5 of the fragmented Hindu national vote. However, there is a significant slice at the lowest socio-economic end—tribals, dalits and rural poor which feel disenfranchised by two-speed India. Large swathes of young and poor voters are cut off from India’s sizzling 9% GDP growth rate. This marginalized rural Indian under class is the principal target of the

congress’s electoral strategy. Assembly polls in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerla and Assam in 2011 will serve as a referendum on the party’s bottom-of the –pyramid strategy, re-articulated at the plenary by Rahul Gandhi.

The Sonia Gandhi-led National Advisory Council’s Welfares is tethered to the same populist credo. But the poor of 2010 are not the poor of Indira Gandhi’s India of 1970. Their grandparents were promised “garibi hatao” by the Congress. After 40 years of which the Congress has been in power nearly 30 years. 437 million Indians still live below the proverty line. Corruption and misgoverned scar their everyday lives. Principled not populist politics wins peoples trust and votes.

Rajiv Gandhi lost that trust in 1989. The Congress hasn’t won a majority in a general election since. Congress should believe in implementation and execution not only on populist slogans.



Bihar key to India’s Growth

India’s progress cannot become a reality till Bihar’s overall growth is ensured in totality, said state HRD minister P.K. Shahi at the 14th annual conference organized jointly by the A. N. Sinha Institute of Social Studies [ANSISS] and Indian Political Economy Association [IPEA ] here on Friday.

Shahi beseeched the political think-tank present at the deliberation to focus on scientific means and device methodologies which can be of help to the state in its quest for growth.

Elaborating on the work being done by the Institute, Diwakar said, more than 200 research papers and 150 publications have been brought out and pioneering work in the area of rural development, panchayati raj institutions, agriculture and health has been done by the institute. It is completely focused on research agenda for the development of Bihar.

Bihar’s history is like a glorious past but burden of tomorrow. We need to do a lot to come up people’s expectations raised by the state’s recent performance, Singh added from the UK and Egypt.


Bihar assembly election 2010 Gaya.

Candidates seem to be changing loyalties like people change clothes. And this crossing over of nominees to different political parties has made the Magadh election scene somewhat confusing, says activist S. B. Bashkar. In Sherghati [Newly created] constituency after the name of great Emperor Sher Shah Suri in Gaya district, the JDU borrowed a candidate from the RJD.

In Aurangabad, it was the other way round with the RJD adopting Sunil Kumar Singh, a JD-U leader and BJP sitting MLA and candidate from Aurangabad seat again this time.

In the newly created Sherghati assembly constituency, the JDU has fielded Vinod Yadav, who was the RJD block chief until recently. RJD chief Lalu Prasad reciprocated the gesture by fielding Sunil Kumar Singh of the JD-U as the RJD candidate from Aurangabad. Those disappointed by Vinod Yadav’s selection for the Sherghati seat include Gaya district JDU chief Ramchandra Singh, former MLA Yadvendu and Asghar Hussain.

Bihar Assembly Election 2010, candidate details of Shri Manohar Prasad Singh.

Name of candidate : Shri Manohar Prasad Singh
Father’s/ Husband’s Name : Shri Sigeshwar Prasad Singh
Education : Post Graduate
Gender : Male
Age. : 61
Political party name : JDU
Seat Name : Manihari [S.T]
Constituency Number : 67
District name : Katihar
Total assets worth. : Above 7 Lacks
Total Liabilities : Nil
IPC sections.Accused : No case
IPC sections. Convited : No case

Bihar Assembly Election 2010, candidate details of Shri Asif Ghafoor.

Name of candidate : Shri Asif Ghafoor
Father’s/ Husband’s Name : Late Shri Abdul Manan
Education : 12Th Pass
Gender : Male
Age. : 33
Political party name : INC
Seat Name : Barauli
Constituency Number : 100
District name : Gopalganj
Total assets worth. : Above 1 Crore
Total Liabilities : Nil
IPC sections.Accused : No case
IPC sections. Convited : No case

Bihar Assembly Election 2010, candidate details of Shri Dr. Shahnawaz Ahmad Kaifi.

Name of candidate : Shri Dr. Shahnawaz Ahmad Kaifi
Father’s/ Husband’s Name : Shri Kafil Ahmad Kaifi
Education : Doctorate Phd.L..N.M.U Darbanga
Gender : Male
Age. : 44
Political party name : LJP
Seat Name : Hayaghat
Constituency Number : 84
District name : Darbhnaga
Total assets worth. : Above 53 Lacks
Total Liabilities : Nil
IPC sections.Accused : 147, 148, 149, 342,   353,  427, 332
IPC sections. Convited : No case

Candidature details for Shri Ananadi Prasad Yadav, for Bihar Assembly Election 2010.

Name of candidate : Ananadi Prasad Yadav.
Father’s/ Husband’s Name : Beshri Yadav.
Education : 12Th Pass.
Gender : Male.
Age. : 54.
Political party name : BJP.
Seat Name : Sikti.
Constituency Number : 51.
District name : Araria.
Total assets worth. : Above 77 Lacks.
Total Liabilities : Nil.
IPC sections.Accused : 171F,171G,343,365,368,379,384.
IPC sections. Convited : No case.