Comprehensive Information on Bihar 2010 Assembly Election, Politicians and General Bihar Politics

Leader              : Laloo Prasad Yadav

Founded           : 1997

Headquarters   : 13, V P House, Rafi Marg, New Delhi – 110001

Ideology Populism Political position Center Alliance Fourth Front.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD- “National People’s Party”) is a political party in India, based in the state of Bihar. The party was founded in 1997 by Laloo Prasad Yadav. The party came about as a result of Lalu Prasad Yadav, ex-president of Janata Dal, being evicted by Sharad Yadav the then president, on corruption charges ($250 million) over the farm support funds. The mass base of the party has traditionally been Yadavs and Muslims, two large and relatively politically active segments of Bihar’s population. In 2008, RJD received the status of recognized national level party following its performance in north-eastern states. RJD was derocognised as a national party on 30 July 2010.

the March 1998 national elections, RJD won 17 Lok Sabha seats from Bihar but failed to make significant headway in any other state. Later that year, the party formed an alliance with Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party as an anti-BJP secular coalition but the coalition failed in garnering any widespread support.

In the October 1999 elections, RJD fought the election in alliance with Congress but lost 10 Lok Sabha seats including the seat of Lalu Prasad Yadav. In the 2000 state elections, however, it performed unexpectedly well – winning a majority of the seats in the state assembly. Continuing its upswing in electoral fortunes, the party won 21 Lok Sabha seats in the 2004 elections that it fought in alliance with Congress. The pendulum swung back, however, next year and the party had to relinquish power in the 2005 state elections after winning only 75 seats. In the state elections held later that year – as a result of no party being able to form a government – RJD continued its downward slide losing 21 seats.

In the general election of April-May 2009, the RJD had a disastrous result, dropping down to just 4 seats, held power in the Indian state of Bihar, under the Chief  Ministers Laloo Yadav and then Rabri Devi, Laloo’s wife, but after the elections in February 2005, the state of Bihar came under President’s Rule through Governor of Bihar Sardar Buta Singh. Since then, a new election has brought the NDA to power in the state. The RJD is no longer a member of India’s governing coalition led by the Congress Party. The party is currently in alliance with Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party and Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party forming what the media has dubbed the “Fourth Front”.but this time rjd has no allience with samajwadi party(in assembly election-2010).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: